Palestine withdraw; three teams for Merdeka Tournament

PETALING JAYA (10 October 2023) – The FA of Malaysia (FAM) have announced that the Merdeka Tournament 2023 will now feature only three teams – Malaysia, India and Tajikistan – following the withdrawal of Palestine.

Palestine had to withdraw from taking part in the 42nd edition of the Merdeka Tournament due to the tension in the country at the moment.

Following the withdrawal of Palestine, host Malaysia will still play India on 13 October 2023 at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil while Tajikistan qualify automatically for the Final on 17 October 2023.

They will play the winner of the Malaysia-India match.