SYDNEY (11 Nov 2019) – Three teams from ASEAN – with the possibility of three more – have confirmed their places in the AFC U19 Championship that will be hosted by Uzbekistan in 2020.

Following the 10 rounds from 11 qualifiers that were concluded on the weekend, the cast is almost complete with Australia (winner of Group H), Indonesia (winner from Group K) and Malaysia (winner from Group G) already confirming their places next year.

The three teams from ASEAN will join Qatar, Iran, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Japan, Tajikistan and hosts Uzbekistan for the meet next year.

But the complete cast will only be known at the end of November when the qualifiers complete with the winner from Group A.

The four best runners-up will join Uzbekistan and the 11 group winners in the 2020 Finals. Should Uzbekistan emerge as one of the best second-placed finishers, the fifth best runners-up will advance.

Group A – featuring Iraq, Oman, Palestine, Kuwait and Pakistan – will be played on 22-30 November in Muscat, Oman.

The three other teams from ASEAN who finished as runners-up are Cambodia (from Group G), Laos (from Group H) and Vietnam (from Group J).